Nigel Owens has explained why George Kruis’ unorthodox back-heel conversion that infuriated Sir Clive Woodward should have been disallowed.
“George, you were very, very lucky to be awarded this because a backheel is not a kick,” said Owens, who was appearing on his weekly ‘Whistle Watch’ review for World Rugby.
“A kick defined in law means you kick the ball anywhere between your knee and your foot. So, a ball off the thigh or the knee is not deemed to be a kick and a backheel is not deemed to be a kick.
“So, although it is Barbarians rugby, it shouldn’t have been allowed.”
Nigel Owens ranks the five best captains he refereed
#5. Chris Robshaw (England)
Owens said: Some people will be surprised at this one to start off. His misfortune was perhaps to be leading England during a difficult time, but he always gave everything for the cause, encouraging others to follow suit, and he was a nice guy off the pitch.”
The post “Very, very lucky” – Nigel Owens reveals why Kruis conversion shouldn’t have count appeared first on Ruck.