Album Review: Tilian Pearson Releases New Solo Album ‘Factory Reset’

More known for his role as a singer in the post-hardcore band Dance Gavin Dance, Tilian Pearson recently released his solo album Factory Reset. Tilian has been a part of other notable bands in his career including Tides of Man (2007-10) and Saosin (2010-11). Throughout his career, he has shown his talents with the many bands he’s worked with, but this solo album is a fresh look at the individuality of him as a musician, producer, and songwriter.

This album was started amid the global COVID-19 pandemic, and like many artists in the lockdown, he took advantage to write and record — with touring being off the table for the time being. This is his third solo album, and it does not disappoint, merging post-hardcore, experimental, and alt-pop influences. He took on the role of songwriter, producer, and recording engineer for this album, and really immersed himself into each role. The fact that he took on all of those roles allowed him to present new creative freedom, and a chance to showcase his experimental individuality. He also brought in friend and drummer Kris Crummett to help along the way and features Polyphia guitarist Tim Henson on his track “Imagination”.

“I’ve always felt like an outcast,” Tilian admits. “I grew up in a rigidly religious situation and I was never a believer of that. I’ve always gravitated toward books where there’s a lead character who’s engaging in wrongthink or just thinking for himself when he’s not supposed to.” Factory Reset is both highly personal and wholly universal—who wouldn’t want to press restart on everything at this point? “The album title is the first thing I wrote down,” Tilian recalls. “In the past, this project has been all over the place. I’m okay with kind of forgetting all of that.” Working on his own may have allowed Tilian to do just that—to wipe the slate clean and truly be himself in the process: “I was searching for meaning in isolation and found it in creating this album.”

Album Artwork by: Natasha Chomko

Factory Reset was released on April 23, 2021, via Rise Records. 

Track List:

  1. Holy Water
  2. Dose
  3. Caught In The Carousel
  4. Anthem
  5. Breathe
  6. All I Crave Is Peace
  7. Is Anarchy A Good Hobby?
  8. Factory Reset
  9. Imagination (feat. Tim Henson)
  10. Act Out
  11. Hands Down My Throat

Post by Lucie Bolanos




Instagram l Facebook l Youtube l Twitter

Spotify l Linkedin l TikTok

Facebook Group


Spotify l Anchor l Google Podcasts


Patreon l Venmo l Cash App l Paypal

AND ‘SUBSCRIBE’ to our email newsletter to know the very moment a new post is published!


The post Album Review: Tilian Pearson Releases New Solo Album ‘Factory Reset’ appeared first on Concert Crap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.